Easy Paleo Chili Recipe

My in-laws were in Louisiana a few months ago and they brought me this jar of chili seasoning from Avery Island (the home of Tabasco Sauce). It has been sitting on my shelf for some time. As part of getting back to eating a paleo diet, my wife and I were recently cleaning out our pantry of non-paleo junk and almost tossed it. I decided to give the ingredients a look and was actually surprised by what I found:

click to enlarge

Not a single non-paleo looking ingredient! No preservatives or anything artificial. While some may not consider it 100% paleo, I decided to use it. However one little jar wasn’t going to be enough to make enough chili for my family of six so I had to do some improvising. So here is another one of my “not-really-a-recipe” recipes:

Ingredients:

  • 2 lbs chuck roast cut into 1/4″ sized pieces
  • 1 whole white onion, chopped
  • 1 jar of Tabasco 7 Spice Chili Recipe
  • 1 15 oz can of organic diced tomatoes
  • 1 8 oz can of tomato paste
  • 1 heaping tablespoon of minced garlic
  • ground cumin to taste
  • 1 tablespoon coconut oil

Instructions:

  1. In a 10 or 12 inch skillet, heat one tablespoon of coconut oil over medium heat.
  2. Add the meat and onions and cook until the meat is browned.
  3.  Add the Tabasco jar, diced tomatoes, tomato paste, garlic and cumin to the pan.
  4. Stir everything together until well mixed then reduce the heat to low and let it simmer for 15 to 20 minutes.
  5. Put in a bowl and enjoy!

Everybody loved it. Even the little ones who aren’t crazy about “spicy” food. It really helped for them that we added all the extra ingredients so it was more on the mild side. (and then I can still add all the extra hotness to my own bowl that I want!)

If you decide to try it out leave me a comment and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

